ERROR 1117 (0x0000045D) - I/O device error

Pure software-based VM-centric and "flash-friendly" VM storage (iSCSI, SMB3 and NFS)

Moderators: anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

ERROR 1117 (0x0000045D) - I/O device error

Postby lackmaster » Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:55 pm

Hello,

I have 2 Win2003 servers each is using MS iSCSI initiator to mount a 800GB F: drive on an EMC CX300i and an 800GB G: image file drive on a Starwind v2.6.4 Win2003 SATA300 storage server.

I am getting numerous failures in copying files from F: to G:. Most of the files copied fine. I can copy the failed files from F: to other places, just not to G:. The following is an example of the error I receive:

2006/01/23 13:29:40 ERROR 1117 (0x0000045D) Copying File F:\directory\subdirectory\filename.img
The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error.

Has anyone seen this before?
lackmaster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: ERROR 1117 (0x0000045D) - I/O device error

Postby Val (staff) » Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:12 pm

lackmaster wrote:Hello,

I have 2 Win2003 servers each is using MS iSCSI initiator to mount a 800GB F: drive on an EMC CX300i and an 800GB G: image file drive on a Starwind v2.6.4 Win2003 SATA300 storage server.

I am getting numerous failures in copying files from F: to G:. Most of the files copied fine. I can copy the failed files from F: to other places, just not to G:. The following is an example of the error I receive:

2006/01/23 13:29:40 ERROR 1117 (0x0000045D) Copying File F:\directory\subdirectory\filename.img
The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error.

Has anyone seen this before?

Hi,

The both iSCSI targets are shared between the 2 servers without using any special software (like a SAN FS), is it correct?

Could you send me the log(s) file for the StarWind Service (from /logs subdirectory)? Also please send me your StarWind configuration file.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm

Postby lackmaster » Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:19 pm

No, none of the iSCSI targets are shared. I have 2 different ones in Starwind for 2 different servers. Same for the EMC targets.

My log file is 1.2 Gig large, I can't even open it. I will only send from the beginning of the file up through where the errors begin.
lackmaster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:40 pm

Postby anton (staff) » Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:21 am

OK, strip it down and let us have one of them for analyze. Thanks!

lackmaster wrote:No, none of the iSCSI targets are shared. I have 2 different ones in Starwind for 2 different servers. Same for the EMC targets.

My log file is 1.2 Gig large, I can't even open it. I will only send from the beginning of the file up through where the errors begin.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3524
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Postby Val (staff) » Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:40 am

lackmaster wrote:No, none of the iSCSI targets are shared. I have 2 different ones in Starwind for 2 different servers. Same for the EMC targets.

My log file is 1.2 Gig large, I can't even open it. I will only send from the beginning of the file up through where the errors begin.

Hi,

I've received your letter with the files. Please read yme reply.

The issue need to be analyzed in details. For now it seems that the StarWind system's resoureces were exhausted at the time...
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm

Postby lackmaster » Wed Jan 25, 2006 4:27 pm

It looks like there is some kind of limit as to the number of files that some directories can hold on my Starwind image files.

I have a directory 5 levels deep with 6 files in it. If I delete 1 file from that directory, then I am able to save any 1 file back to it, but only one file, if try to save another file to it then I get the I/O error message.

If I delete 2 files from it, then I am able to save any 2 files back to it.

However, at the directory above that one, I can save as many files as I want.

Specs from one of my Starwind drives:
849.61 GB total space
1,772,286 Files, 4,329 Folders = 201 GB

My other Starwind drive is 867.87 GB total size and has about 2.5 times as many files, and about 6000 folders.

There is nothing further in my event logs except for the error 1117. It's not a resource problem either.

If you don't have a fix for this then I will have to use a different product.
lackmaster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:40 pm

Postby Val (staff) » Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:16 pm

Will,

Is the ImageFile a flat image or a sparse one?
If it's sparse, is there free space on the partition where the ImageFile located?

We're trying to reproduce the problem in our test labs.
If there is a bug in our code we'll fix it ASAP.

Thank you.
lackmaster wrote:It looks like there is some kind of limit as to the number of files that some directories can hold on my Starwind image files.

I have a directory 5 levels deep with 6 files in it. If I delete 1 file from that directory, then I am able to save any 1 file back to it, but only one file, if try to save another file to it then I get the I/O error message.

If I delete 2 files from it, then I am able to save any 2 files back to it.

However, at the directory above that one, I can save as many files as I want.

Specs from one of my Starwind drives:
849.61 GB total space
1,772,286 Files, 4,329 Folders = 201 GB

My other Starwind drive is 867.87 GB total size and has about 2.5 times as many files, and about 6000 folders.

There is nothing further in my event logs except for the error 1117. It's not a resource problem either.

If you don't have a fix for this then I will have to use a different product.
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm

Postby lackmaster » Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:25 pm

I guess the image files are sparce since I did not choose "flat" when I created them.

I have several TB of free space.

What is the difference between flat and sparce?
lackmaster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:40 pm

Postby Val (staff) » Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:31 pm

lackmaster wrote:I guess the image files are sparce since I did not choose "flat" when I created them.

I have several TB of free space.

What is the difference between flat and sparce?

There could be issues with sparse files as they grow 'on demand' when data is written to it.
Also sparse files tend to be much more fragmented than plain ones.
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm

Postby lackmaster » Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:43 pm

I will try creating a flat file image and use it to see if I still have problems. This will take a while.
lackmaster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:40 pm

Postby Val (staff) » Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:56 pm

lackmaster wrote:I will try creating a flat file image and use it to see if I still have problems. This will take a while.

Ok. Please let us know about the results.
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm

Postby anton (staff) » Fri Jan 27, 2006 9:07 am

Generally speaking WriteFile shoud not fail with "no resources" on sparse files as well - task to our QA to work deeper. However there could be issues with configuration of the target on the server machine - like having 3 TB of free disk space and say 100 MB set for "disk quota". And so on...
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3524
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Postby lackmaster » Tue Jan 31, 2006 4:53 pm

I re-created the imagefile:

900 GB
Flat file
Asynchronous

I relaunched the robocopy job that replicates the F: drive to the G: drive, and have NOT seen the same errors I was seeing before.

It has completely replicated 547 GB of 50 KB files (which is an enourmous amount of files) without any errors. As it was before, it started throwing errors around 250 GB.

I will now do the same for the other server and see if I get the same good results.
lackmaster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:40 pm

Postby Val (staff) » Tue Jan 31, 2006 5:11 pm

lackmaster wrote:I re-created the imagefile:

900 GB
Flat file
Asynchronous

I relaunched the robocopy job that replicates the F: drive to the G: drive, and have NOT seen the same errors I was seeing before.

It has completely replicated 547 GB of 50 KB files (which is an enourmous amount of files) without any errors. As it was before, it started throwing errors around 250 GB.

I will now do the same for the other server and see if I get the same good results.

Winston,

Thank you for the information!

The ImageFile plug-in should work without problems. If there are any issues we'll fix them ASAP...
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm


Return to StarWind Virtual SAN

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest